About the author:

Tejvan organises short-distance running and cycling races for the Sri Chinmoy Marathon Team in his home city of Oxford. He is also a very good cyclist, having won the National hill climb championships in 2013 and finished 3rd in the National 100 Mile Time Trials in 2014.
  • All runners of this year's race

    All runners of this year's race

  • Stutisheel Lebedev - 5th place

    Stutisheel Lebedev - 5th place

  • Susan Marshall - 1st Woman

    Susan Marshall - 1st Woman

  • Andrea Marcato - 1st Overall

    Andrea Marcato - 1st Overall

  • The Race was run in Turbulent weather with several days of heavy rain

    The Race was run in Turbulent weather with several days of heavy rain

  • Huang Lan Yang - 7th Place (3,000 miles)

    Huang Lan Yang - 7th Place (3,000 miles)

  • Finishers


  • Ananda Lahari Zuscin on the startline

    Ananda Lahari Zuscin on the startline

  • Huang Lan Yang

    Huang Lan Yang

  • Vasu Duzihy and Bipin

    Vasu Duzihy and Bipin

  • Andrea and Kaneenika

    Andrea and Kaneenika

Video of event

The 26th edition of the Sri Chinmoy Self-Transcendence 3100 Mile Race saw a stellar field with 12 runners entering this unique challenge. In the first couple of weeks, the runners made excellent starts. Yet this is an ultra race like no other, the event is perhaps unique in straddling two seasons – the end of summer and the beginning of Autumn. In late September, the tail-end of Hurricane Ian hit New York with days and days of persistent rain. Yet, despite the innumerable practical difficulties of such weather, the race continued with the cheerful support of an army of volunteers and the inspiring persistence and determination of the hero-runners.

Stephen Redfern (left) Vasu Duzihy (right)

The race included three first time entrants. Stephen Redfern from Australia impressed with his cheerful and positive demeanour. After being forced to retire for a few days with severe blisters, he came back determined to honour the race and family of runners. It is a similar spirit that drew back Nirbhasa Magee. After a Covid relapse, he would have had good reason to retire. But, as perhaps only the runners can testify, there is a magic to being on the course, which makes them push through physical pain for the inner reward. The current women’s world Record Holder Kaneenika Janakova (48 days+14:24:10
) from Slovakia, knows how to fly around the course, but this year experienced a different kind of self-transcendence, being grateful for a new experience.

Kaneenika Janakova, Nirbhasa Magee and Stephen Redfern

This was a recurring theme of the 3100 Mile Race, we may come with goals and hopes, but ultimately have to surrender to the experience offered. No one better exemplifies this spirit of cheerful surrender than 18 times participant Ananda-Lahari Zuscin.

Another first time entrant who impressed on her debut was Huang Lan Yang, who fell just short of completing the full 3100 miles at her first attempt. It is worth mentioning that once Sri Chinmoy was asked for advice for 3100 runners, he recommended smiling more. Perhaps no one lived up to Sri Chinmoy’s advice better than Huang Lan Yang who was always ready with a smile.

Susan Marshall finish
Susan Marshall (finish)

As a first time entrant, Susan Marshall excelled to be the women’s champion in a time of 50 days 16 hours. It is a remarkable achievement and her exploits were reported by the media in Australia and New Zealand. (e.g. ABC News)

Stutisheel Lebedev from the Ukraine finished his rollercoaster race at almost the last hour of the last day, a fitting tribute to his determination, making it ten finishes in total.

In 4th place was Vasu Duzihy, a three times past winner, who finished his tenth race out of ten, with an excellent time of 48 days 10 hours.

(from left Asprihanal Aalto, Mei (wife of Lo Wei Ming), Lo Wei Ming and Andrea Marcato.

In 3rd place was Lo Wei Ming - one of the great Asian ultra runners of all time. He exceeded his best from last year, setting a new national record of 46 days 15:01:43.

In 2nd place was Ashprihanal Aalto in a time of 45 days 16:28:47. Asprihanal will always be a legend of this race. The current men’s world record holder (in an incredible time of 40 days+09:06:21), he also holds the record for the most finishes of sixteen.

The winner for the third consecutive year was Andrea Marcato, in a superb time of 43 days and three hours 20:27. Throughout the race Andrea exuded determination, focus and concentration. In a race that is so long, Andrea exemplifies how every second counts. There was a real devotion to seeking every possible lap.

Of all the outer achievements of the race, nothing is more important than the inner oneness the race seeks to bring about. Sri Chinmoy once said that 3100 Mile Runners could serve their countries in a most significant way, through the positive energy and oneness the race brings to the fore. This oneness was picked up by the media who saw a seed of hope manifested in the oneness between the two runners from Russia and Ukraine.

Vajra Henderson - one of the tireless servers behind the scenes.

Also, the race is much more than the 12 runners. It requires a large team of self-giving servers, who freely give of their time because they value what the race can give. We are particularly indebted to those, away from the limelight, who prepared food throughout the day. We are also grateful to all those who counted runners, took photos, provided supplies and offered medical supervision. But, more than anything we offer our gratitude to Sri Chinmoy, the founder of the race, who created not just the world’s longest certified race, but something more. An opportunity to create a new world in this humble block of New York and the vision that anything is possible.

“There is only one dream
That will always be perfect
In your lifetime,
And that is the dream
Of self-transcendence.”

– Sri Chinmoy

(speech by race director Rupantar LaRusso after race)

Finishing times 2022

  1. Andrea Marcato: 43 days 03:20:27
  2. Ashprihanal Aalto: 45 days 16:28:47
  3. Lo Wei-Ming: 46 days 15:01:43
  4. Vasu Duzihy 48 days 10:59:02
  5. Susan Marshall: 50 days 16:23:53
  6. Stutisheel Lebedev: 51 days 15:37:47
  7. Huang Lan Yang - 3,000.2 miles
  8. Stephen Redfern - 2728 miles
  9. Kaneenika Janakova - 2658.9 miles
  10. Ananda-Lahari Zuscin - 2637.5 miles
  11. Nirbhasa Magee - 1543.2 miles

Further reading