About the author:

Rupantar has been the race director of the Sri Chinmoy Marathon Team since 1985, having been asked by Sri Chinmoy to serve in that capacity. As well as working on the big races the US Marathon Team organise each year - the 3100 Mile Race and the Six and 10 Day Race - he also spends a considerable amount of time archiving the Marathon Team's 40 year history on this website.

app10k.jpg"Borja Wins Sri Chinmoy 10K; Horowitz First Woman" (Press Release). April 22, 1984. Retrieved 2012-09-30. Archive copy at Sri Chinmoy Marathon Team office, Queens, New York.

"Top man in the Easter Sri Chinmoy 10K was Luis Borja, who's decisive 32:22 win anchored a Kangaroo Team victory. Runner-up in a PR of 32:37 was Steve Levinson of Hicksville, NY, who held his own against challenging Virendra Gauthier. Gauthier, running for the Sri Chinmoy Team, clocked 32:38.

Team Trophy went to the Kangaroo Team for the combined times of Luis Borja (1st), Remulus Della Valle, (5th) 33:39 and Fernando Castillo (11th) 34:29.

Adding a first place win of 36:30 to her successful spring season was English-born Gillian Horowitz. Gillian recently took third in the Perrier 10K in Central Park and placed fifth behind Wendy Sly in the Boston Milk Run. Second woman was Nancy Kubasek of Toledo, Ohio in 40:17.

First winner in the Sri Chinmoy Team new Racewalkers category was Mort Malkin, with a time of 58:02. Malkin, who coaches racewalking at 9 am Saturdays in Prospect Park, edged out Trishul Cherns, area ultra runner who recently won the Sri Chinmoy Invitational 12-Hour Walk. Cherns clocked 58:06."





Cross-posted from us.srichinmoyraces.org